Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Phil Currie Awarded Alberta Order of Excellence

Photo (c) M. Ryan
The Alberta Order of Excellence is the highest honour the province can bestow on a citizen "in recognition of their lasting contributions on the provincial, national and international stage."

The new members will be invested into the Order in a ceremony in Edmonton on Oct. 20. This will bring the total AOE membership to 109.

The other members chosen for investiture in 2010 are Alex Janvier (Cold Lake), Ralph Klein (Calgary), Janice McTighe (Calgary), Louise Miller (Edmonton), Bill Mooney (Calgary), Reza Nasseri (Edmonton) and Bob Steadward (Edmonton).

“These eight remarkable Albertans have all made very positive contributions to our province, and they have done so while forging a unique path and encouraging others to follow their lead," said outgoing Alberta Lieutenant-Governor Norman Kwong, who's also chancellor of the Order. link